RatePunk Logo
Image of Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Image of Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Image of Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Image of Mornington Hotel London Victoria
icon

1/5

Image of Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Image of Mornington Hotel London VictoriaImage of Mornington Hotel London VictoriaImage of Mornington Hotel London VictoriaImage of Mornington Hotel London Victoria

Safety index

62 out of 100

Show All Photos

Safe area tag

Safe area

Mornington Hotel London Victoria

Rating icon

7.7

Fair (2,375 ratings)

Westminster, United Kingdom - 

show on map
Location icon

1.26 km Buckingham Palace

Location icon

1.33 km Westminster Abbey

Location icon

2 km Hyde Park

Hotel Overview

Mornington Hotel London Victoria, based on user reviews, is a well-regarded hotel that provides a balanced mix of good and bad experiences. Many visitors commend the hotel for its positives, while also noting areas that could use improvement.

Thumbs up icon

Hotel highlights

Cleanliness

Location

Transit

  1. Excellent Location: Ideally situated for exploring the city, with many attractions and public transportation options nearby.
  2. Friendly Staff: Employees are noted for being welcoming, helpful, and providing excellent customer service.
  3. Cleanliness: Guests frequently compliment the hotel on maintaining high levels of cleanliness throughout the premises.
  4. Comfortable Rooms: Many reviewers mention that the rooms are comfortable, providing a good night's sleep.
  5. Value for Money: Several guests feel the hotel offers great value for the price, including all the necessary amenities for a pleasant stay.
Thumbs down icon

Area for improvement

Accessibility

  1. Small Room Sizes: A common critique involves rooms being smaller than expected, which could impact comfort for some guests.
  2. Noisy Environment: Due to its central location, some guests have experienced noise disruption from outside, affecting their stay.
  3. Limited On-Site Amenities: The hotel's offerings in terms of on-site amenities are considered limited by some visitors.
  4. Breakfast Quality: While some appreciate the breakfast, others feel it lacks variety or quality matching their expectations.
  5. Wi-Fi Connectivity: A few guests mention issues with Wi-Fi strength and reliability, hindering Internet usage.

Amenities

Soundproof rooms

Free WiFi

Free WiFi

Air conditioning

Air conditioning

Room service

Room service

Housekeeping

24/7 front desk

24/7 front desk

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

No onsite parking available

Youtube Icon

Related hotel videos

Score icon7.7

RateScore

Total 2,375 Reviews

Info icon

RateScore is average rating from most popular providers

Blended Web Rating

Icon

7.7

Icon

7.6

Icon

8.2

Icon

3.7/5

Icon

4.0/5

Icon

agoda

168 Reviews

7.7 / 10

Icon

booking

1,229 Reviews

7.6 / 10

Icon

expedia

382 Reviews

8.2 / 10

Icon

google

270 Reviews

3.7 / 5

Icon

tripadvisor

326 Reviews

4.0 / 5

Reviews

Info icon

Words are aggregated from hotel reviews across the web and listed by the most mentions.

Country flagCountry flagCountry flag

270+ People Are Talking

Property

Service

Cleanliness

Location

Sleep

Bathroom

Room

Accessibility

Transit

Breakfast

Wi-Fi

Atmosphere

Air Conditioning

TV

Restaurant

Business

Property was mentioned 99 times

29% Negative64% Positive

Reviews based on Property

User image
Mel B5 months ago

Property was in a god walk able location to main sights and train / tube Victoria station. Many restaurants and grocery stores short walk away as well. Property was clean , modern and well maintained. Staff were very helpful and accommodating and address inquiries professionally. Small room that we knew when booked, were out seeing sites most of the time was not an issue. The great location was a fit for us

User image
David Smith9 months ago
1/5Google icon

As of May 29th, 2023, an update for my review: after a month this hotel still chose to be dishonest and blame instead of keeping its promise: Shame on you! So sad and pathetic! You have to be this low, put blame on us! After your promise and we returned from London we wrote to you numerous of emails, Expedia had 4 agents contacted you. You constantly refused to keep your promise. “ From April 29 to May 3, 2023 we stayed at this hotel. The experience we had at this hotel was extremely terrible. The services and their practices were unacceptable. The responses from the management of this hotel were disappointing and dishonest! First of all the hotel did not deliver what they promised. We had contacted the hotel a couple of months ahead of our stay to ask for a room on the ground floor because I am handicapped. Secondly on the third day of our stay when we returned to our room in the evening, we were beyond shocked to find that our room was in such a horrible state: our bed was not made, the floor was dirty, it was covered with objects that were not even ours, the bathroom sink was filthy, the cups and spoons were not cleaned at all. This hotel is so unhealthy and not hygienic at all.  In all our years of traveling, we have never encountered any situation like this before. We are frequent travelers and have stayed in all different levels of hotels around the world. We cannot believe that a hotel in London, England would have such a deplorable level of service and hygiene. We were shocked, disappointed and saddened by the responses of both the hotel manager and the hotel director when we informed them of our concerns. We sent both of them a dozen emails outlining our experiences and concerns. At first, our emails went unanswered. When they finally replied, they did not take any responsibility or offer any resolution to our complaints. In fact, they chose to blame, point fingers, and manipulate the situation by telling us conflicting stories. Below I cut, copied and pasted two email replies to my wife Kathryn from the hotel director and the hotel manager to demonstrate how the management team blamed us and made contradicting statements! From the director: “Greetings Katheryn, Thank you for your email. You spoke with our manager on Wednesday as you were leaving the hotel. She was under the impression that you were happy with the room and stay from the conversation that you had. I have seen that she has not received the email as the address was incorrect.” The hotel director is totally wrong here. The manager indeed received my emails but she didn’t reply to me. From the hotel manager: “Dear Kathryn, Thank you for your email. I can confirm that I was indeed in another property so my apologies that I did not see you in person on your day of departure and you have been conversing with my receptionist as she relayed any comments you have noted to her on departure after I returned. My apologies you have mistaken me with my receptionist. I am happy to increase the offer to 50% for the day of the complaint.” We asked them to refund us for the two nights we had the issues and problems. They offered to compensate us by refunding 50% back for one night only. We wanted to move on so we informed them that we would accept the offer. Shockingly they ignored us again and did not honor the refund that they had promised us. From our experience, we can confidently say that the management team of this hotel is less than professional. The hotel practices and guest services were unacceptable especially in a renowned tourist destination such as London. It is a shame that this hotel left a permanent negative impression on us and on our visit to London.

Hotel Quality

Info icon

The quality chart is based on how hotel ratings changed over time.

Mar, 2023Jul, 2023Now

General Info

Bullet point

Total number of rooms 20

Bullet point

Number of floors 6

WiFi Quality

icon

Download, Mbps

icon

Upload, Mbps

Ping, ms

Idle

14

Download

90

Upload

49

Wifi Speed Is Good For

icon

web browsing

icon

HD online movies

icon

group video calls

icon

online streaming

icon

4K online movies

icon

online gaming

Choose Room

Location Area Map

icon

What's nearby

Buckingham Palace

1.26 km

Westminster Abbey

1.33 km

Hyde Park

2 km

Big Ben

2 km

Westminster Bridge

2 km

icon

Getting around

Pimlico Underground Station

560 m

London (ZEP-Victoria Train Station)

630 m

icon

Airports Nearby

London City Airport (LCY)

23 km

icon

Restaurants

The Queens Arms

280 m

Cask Pub & Kitchen Brighton

280 m

Cyprus Mangal

280 m

The Marquis of Westminster

210 m

Caffè Nero

210 m

Street View

Icon

Daytime safety

65 out of 100

Safe

Icon

Nighttime safety

39 out of 100

Unsafe

Westminster safety index

Safety

Crime

62

Overall Safety Index

Safe

An average rating of the six safety categories

62 out of 100

Icon

Women safety

Risky

Info icon

Likelihood of inappropriate behavior against women.

lowhigh

54

Icon

Physical safety

Safe

Info icon

Likelihood of injury due to harmful intent.

lowhigh

63

Icon

Property safety

Risky

Info icon

Likelihood of theft.

lowhigh

59

Icon

Political safety

Safe

Info icon

Potential for infringement of political rights or political unrest.

lowhigh

76

Icon

LGBTQ safety

Safe

Info icon

Likelihood of harm or discrimination against LGBTQ persons or groups and level of caution required at location.

lowhigh

69

Icon

Medical safety

Risky

Info icon

Likelihood of illness or disease, assessment of water and air quality, and access to reliable medical care.

lowhigh

50

54

Overall Crime index

Moderate

An average rating of the crime categories

54 out of 100

Property crime severity

Moderate

58

Crime category icon

Mugging or robbery  57/100

Crime category icon

Car theft  43/100

Crime category icon

Car break-ins  50/100

Crime category icon

Home break-ins  48/100

Violent crime severity

Moderate

57

Crime category icon

Physical attacks  54/100

Crime category icon

Racism or religion motivated attacks  40/100

Other crime severity

High

63

Crime category icon

Insult or harassment in public  54/100

Crime category icon

Corruption or bribery  38/100

Crime category icon

Drug problem  62/100

Prices Around Property

Average Daily Costs Per Person

icon

Bottle of water 1.5L

$0.6 - $2.3

icon

Coffee

$2.9 - $7.6

icon

Beer 0.5L

$1.2 - $3.5

icon

Meal, inexpensive restaurant

$16.2 - $38.2

icon

Public transport, one-way ticket

$2.3 - $5.8

icon

Taxi 1km (normal tariff)

$1.3 - $3.5

icon

Meal for 2 people, mid-range restaurant, three-course

$57.9 - $162

icon

Bottle of mid-range wine

$8.1 - $17.4

icon

McMeal at McDonalds

$8.1 - $11.6

icon

Coke/Pepsi 0.33L

$1.5 - $3.5

icon

Public transport, monthly pass

$138.9 - $309

icon

Gasoline (1 liter)

$1.7 - $2.2

icon

Mobile phone monthly plan

$11.6 - $35.9

icon

Fitness club, monthly fee

$28.9 - $115.7

Weather In Westminster

°C
°F

Precipitation In Westminster

mm
in

Air Quality

Unhealthy (For Sensitive Groups)

PM2.512

PM1023

63

Slider marker

Limited risk for sensitive individuals. Not recommended to do outdoor activities.

Drinkable Water Quality

water icons

Fair

Water may have some problems, not recommended for daily consumption.

Traffic around property

traffic icons

Moderate

Traffic is moving at a steady pace, smooth driving without significant delays.

House Rules

Clock Icon

Check in after 14:00

Clock Icon

Check out until 11:00

Children welcome

No pets

Our Recent Articles